Kakukaku Shikajika

kakukaku4

Reading Kakukaku Shikajika just gives me such a nostalgic feeling, makes me remembering the days between my third year of high school and early college. I was crazy about manga and hoping someday to become a mangaka. While every student at my grade was having an exam preparation, I took a drawing course. Like Akihiko Hayashi, author and main character in this manga, I have same motivation to go to an art college.

Kakukaku Shikajika was written in memory of Kenzou Hidaka, her art teacher. The story are told in flashback with unique plot line that jumps between the character’s childhood and adult years, revealing the story much more melancholy. This is an autobiography of the author but actually this is more about her teacher. An intimidating teacher who spends much of his time yelling at his students and keeping them focused on drawing with the use of a bamboo sword.

A strong tinge of regret also lacing the story tone. You can feel how Akiko really respect and grateful to him but unfortunately she never got a chance to express those feelings so she wrote Kakukaku Shikajika.

kakukaku5

I really enjoy reading this manga not only extremely relevant to me, as an art student, but it is relevant for everyone. I feel like everyone has a bit of her to relate to. The struggles in life and with your dream. The “What do you want to be when you grow up?” kind of phase. And the struggling with the dying out of the passion you have for something.

I think you guys have experienced similar feelings.

kakukaku6

Well said.

Leave a Reply

